Blog Tour Review & Giveaway: SILVER IN THE BLOOD by Jessica Day George

13
Posted 07/08/2015 by alicemarvels in Fantasy
 

silver

Today we’re pleased to bring you our review of Jessica Day George’s Silver in the Blood as part of the blog tour, plus a fun giveaway courtesy of Rock Star Book Tours and Bloomsbury Publishing!

4stars

Most of the Jessica Day George books I’ve read before have been middle grade, so I was pleased to find Silver in the Blood  is aimed at an older audience, but still has the same charming characters and engaging writing I’m used to from this author. We are taken back to nineteenth century Romania, as two cousins, Lou and Dacia, make the trip to their maternal ancestors’ home in Romania from New York. Peppered with diary entries, newspaper clippings and letters, the story is told through third person perspective changes and gives us a birds eye view of the drama building as the girls embark on this life-changing trip.

Lou and Dacia are more like sisters than cousins, and they both face a shocking truth about their family – the Florescus are shapeshifters, and they have an important role to play in a political struggle amongst supernatural creatures. I love that we get a new take on Dracula, and that the girls aren’t resigned to their fate. They don’t just roll over and let their family push them around, but they take charge of their destiny, even when it is out of character for Lou and certainly for the time and traditions of their family.

There is a bit of romance for both girls, and though I do wish we’d gotten a bit more development, overall I was pleased with the direction the relationships took. The ending leaves room for more stories with Lou and Dacia, while wrapping up this adventure nicely. I look forward to reading more about these two in the future if we get a sequel to Silver in the Blood !

 

About SILVER IN THE BLOOD:

 SILVER IN THE BLOOD by Jessica Day GeorgeA New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.
Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate . . . or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.
With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.

Available now: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks, Goodreads

 

About Jessica DAY GEORGE:

Jessica Day George, author of SILVER IN THE BLOOD

Jessica Day George earned a BA in Humanities/Comparative Literature from Brigham Young University, where she enjoyed classes in Pottery and Old Norse, and dutifully forced herself to take Algebra and Biology. Originally from Idaho, she now resides in Salt Lake City, Utah, with her husband and three young children.

Find Jessica online: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

 

Giveaway:

2 winners will receive a finished copy of Silver in the Blood. US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

6/29/2015- Reading Lark Interview

6/30/2015- Katie’s Book Blog– Review

7/1/2015- Magical Urban Fantasy Reads– Guest Post

7/2/2015- Dark Faerie Tales– Review

7/3/2015- Adventures of a Book Junkie– Interview

 

Week Two:

7/6/2015- Frannie in the Pages– Review

7/7/2015- Once Upon a Twilight– Guest Post

7/8/2015- Alice Marvels– Review

7/9/2015- Two Chicks on Books– Interview

7/10/2015- Bookhounds ya– Review

 


13 Comments


  1.  

    I felt the same way about this book. I enjoyed the bond between the girls, but I did wish there was more development when it came to their relationships. Still, I was very engaged in the story itself.
    Lovely review!




  2.  

    I like the sound of this one. I also want to read those earlier ones 🙂




  3.  

    I’m hearing such good things about this book! The number one quibble does seem to be with the romance and wishing it had a bit more depth, but overall this sounds like a fun read. It will be my first by this author so I’m excited:)




  4.  

    I tried some of the MG books by this author and I couldn’t get into them. I’m hoping that I break my rut by reading her YA debut. The story sounds really good and something that I would enjoy.




  5.  

    I’m kind of kicking myself I didn’t pick this one up when I had the chance, it really does sound like a great read! Thanks so much for sharing this!!




  6.  

    No one seems to be pleased with the romance, but everyone seems to be liking the sisters and the story. I have had this one on my radar for awhile, hoping to get to it soon.




  7.  

    Thanks for sharing – this is the first review I’ve seen of this one. I like books that deal with siblings, and it seems like that aspect was done well.




  8.  

    I did enjoy this one but she mostly writes MG? Okay, that explains some of the minor problems I had with it. It did feel young. This is a great giveaway.




  9.  

    I loved how the two cousins were such good friends and really helped bouy each other when things got weird and challenging!




  10.  
    Joy

    I haven’t read this s book yet, but it sounds promising. Great review!




  11.  

    I love the cover of this book and it’s excited that it’s a new spin on Dracula!! 🙂




  12.  

    I’ve heard a lot about this one, but hasn’t been high on TBR yet, should def look into it more though





Leave a Response



  • Twitter
  • Facebook